Progress On Next Book

The Fairbridge Books

Paul Draker – a gay former Combat Rescue Officer – returns to his childhood home to live out his days in peace in the woods of Western North Carolina. But the small city of Fairbridge is about to explode at the intersection of sex, religion and politics. A trilogy of thrillers that pits one man against extreme forces, left and right, determined to have a fight, as well as a tortured soul on a perverse mission to kill as many people as possible, a psychopath hellbent on revenge and a sinister tent revivalist with a score to settle. Originally published as three separate novels, The Fairbridge Books Pride Edition brings the trilogy together in a single mass market paperback omnibus. 


All 3 Fairbridge Novels In 1 Volume

Expanded, updated and with new chapters – get the definitive edition of Under Fire, Brimstone and Cursed Land. Available from Thanksgiving 2024 and exclusive to petervanderwaltshop.com 









Based on the now Out Of Print, Hit Originals:

Book 1: Under Fire


Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, Fairbridge is home to a sizeable gay community; as well as American evangelical Christianity’s brightest rising star.

The people have embraced the contrasts and paradoxes as part of life in the New South. Students, hilbillies, snake handling tent revivalists, a new police chief, a feminist lesbian bar owner, rich out-of-staters… they all call Fairbridge home. So far, the uneasy peace has held.

Paul Draker – a gay, former Combat Rescue Officer – returns to the city to live out his days peacefully in the woods of Western North Carolina.

But as the edges of the peace begin to unravel, and the culture wars reignite, he is on a collision course with a tortured soul on a perverse mission to kill as many people as possible.

Book 2: Brimstone

A few short months ago, blood filled the streets of Fairbridge, North Carolina. Now the city is recovering from the carnage that was the Pride Massacre. Sort of.

Former Combat Rescue Officer Paul Draker is also ready to leave the past behind. The physical and emotional wounds of time spent in warzones. The guilt over staying in the closet to save his career. The cost of survival. With his friends encouraging him to go easy on himself, he is ready to rebuild his life. This time, on his own terms.

But halfway across the country, a psychopathic sexual predator is released from prison… and he has a score to settle.

And Paul Draker is about to discover that, while he may be done with the past – it may not be done with him. 

Book 3: Cursed Land


Fairbridge, North Carolina, has suffered enough. Everyone in the city desperately wants to move on from spree killers and psychopaths.

And personally, Paul Draker is right there with them. All he wants now is to run his business, live his life, maybe even fall in love.

But there is a woman in the mountains who is hell bent on not letting any of them forget.

At first, she preaches only to her small congregation of fanatical believers.

But then her cause is adopted by extremist groups from all over the country.

And they start showing up in Fairbridge, first in a trickle, then in a tidal wave.

An army of violent followers who rally to the cause of Marsha Keegan’s holy war of righteous retribution – against the federal government, the city of Fairbridge, Chief Hannah, and Paul Draker himself.

Having survived a spree killer, and then a psychopath, Paul Draker and the small Appalachian city of Fairbridge is about to face all-out war.


An epic science fiction saga…